Home Menu

「點點樂音,改寫一生」論壇

演講者

愛德華多.曼德茲先生
委內瑞拉青少年音樂教育系統El Sistema行政總監

「委內瑞拉青少年音樂教育系統(El Sistema)的兒童或年輕人一開始演奏或演唱,便立即滿懷希望。學員開始感受到同儕及老師的重視,開始明瞭除了流連街頭,還有另一條路。」

曼德茲1978年生於委內瑞拉的卡拉卡斯,其後於梅里達成長。年紀尚輕的他在當地一間El Sistema音樂中心開始學習小提琴,並在1996年成功獲西蒙.玻利瓦爾交響樂團(El Sistema旗下的管弦樂團之一)錄用。直至2002年,曼德茲一直擔任樂團的小提琴手及導師。2003年,他正式加入El Sistema,成為學院主任,並於2004年升任為全國音樂中心主任,2005至2008年,則擔任El Sistema音樂與教育部主任。到2008年9月,他獲得El Sistema的創辦人荷西.安東尼奧.艾柏魯指名接任行政總監一職。

自擔任行政總監起,曼德茲領導委內瑞拉各地的El Sistema計劃發展,尤其著重融入社群和提升演奏水平。此外,他亦親自監督大型基建計劃,包括興建嶄新教育設施及表演場地,令El Sistema在該國超過400間音樂中心的網絡,在數量與規模上都能進一步擴大。他也積極選拔、發掘、培育及推廣機構旗下大小音樂團體—不論是大型交響樂團或本地合唱團。

曼德茲的一項重任,是要令目前僱用了逾2000名員工的El Sistema能保持穩定的資本結構。他與贊助商、公共與私人機構等磋商拓展藝術和教育工作。曼德茲更為機構內各個交響樂團策劃國際巡迴演出和其他計劃,致力提升El Sistema作為古典音樂界的創新社會發展計劃的形象。

曼德茲於1994至1999年期間,曾擔任佩德羅.諾拉斯科.科隆音樂學院的小提琴手及導師。在1995至2000年間,他於安德烈斯.貝略天主教大學修讀法律,並在2007年於卡拉卡斯行政與管理研究所取得公共管理碩士學位;最近亦於波士頓大學修畢專業募捐證書課程。

張亮先生
香港賽馬會慈善及社區事務執行總監

張亮先生2014年加入香港賽馬會,擔任慈善及社區事務執行總監。香港賽馬會透過其慈善信託基金每年捐贈約港幣40億元以建立更美好的香港。

張先生專業經驗豐富,曾為貝恩資本合夥人,溢達集團全球採購及供應鏈管理董事總經理,教育互聯網新創企業創辦人及行政總裁,波士頓諮詢公司高級顧問等;張亮先生2013年創辦社會企業「全城街馬」並擔任主席 。

工作以外,張先生熱心公益,曾是慈善創投公司香港社會創投基金的榮譽顧問及創會董事; 嶺南大學校董會成員和諮議會副主席。他現在是香港特別行政區政府「安老事務委員會」和 「關愛基金專責小組」成員,並擔任香港按揭證券有限公司董事;張先生是香港中文大學客座教授。

張先生畢業於香港中文大學,後取得哈佛大學工商管理碩士。

阿納爾多.古斯度迪奧先生
菲律賓青年管樂團,樂團經理及指揮

三十多年來,古斯度迪奧一直在菲律賓致力促進年輕音樂家的發展,以及在社區推廣並提高公眾的音樂欣賞能力。他自1982年起擔任菲律賓青年管樂團的樂團經理,並於2004年成為青年音樂家發展組織的董事會成員。2010年,他在紐西蘭聖保祿國際學院創立聖保祿人交響樂團,並於2010至2013年期間擔任樂團總監。

古斯度迪奧在1976年開始於菲律賓大學音樂學院師隨塞爾索.加拉多學習巴松管。1977年,他被任命為菲律賓青年管弦樂團的首席巴松管手,並於1979年以獨奏者身份隨團赴東南亞作巡迴演出。他曾三次代表樂團出訪亞洲青年音樂營,分別在1977年於馬奇林山與澳洲巴松管手理查德.麥金太爾教授亮相,1978年及1979年分別於新加坡和香港擔任音樂營的導師。1980年,他獲頒英國文化協會獎學金到英國皇家音樂學院學習,師隨凱文.卡姆登教授。

作為一位專業演奏家,古斯度迪奧曾與馬尼拉交響樂團、馬尼拉首都交響樂團及國家愛樂管弦樂團等樂團合作。

妮高娜.基利恩女士
蘇格蘭青少年音樂教育系統行政總裁

妮高娜.基利恩是蘇格蘭青少年音樂教育系統的第一名員工,由2007年起,一直與董事局合作無間,創辦和發展該機構。她畢業於蘇格蘭皇家音樂及戲劇學院,於該院取得音樂教育學士學位。她曾擔任過幼兒園教師,亦是蘇格蘭首批文化統籌員之一,特别籌劃可作為社會發展及介入模式的藝術項目,她同時是蘇格蘭青年音樂發展主任﹑音樂領袖,以及自由身項目經理。 

妮高娜是Saltire基金會研究員,此前曾在蘇格蘭兒童事務委員會和Horsecross Arts委員會擔任義務職位。她深信藝術能夠改變個人和社區,以及兒童和青少年的潛能。 

傑夫.金普頓先生
美國因特洛肯藝術中心名譽主席

金普頓於40多年來一直在常規及高等教育的藝術課程、企業、非牟利組織及慈善團體裏擔任著領導角色。在過去14年間,他擔任國際知名的密西根州因特洛肯藝術中心的主席,前所未有地擴充了該校的課程、傳媒、人力、資本和財政等資源。在金氏帶領下,因特洛肯藝術中心於2006年榮獲總統喬治.布殊頒發的國家藝術獎章。金氏曾於紐約、明尼蘇達州和堪薩斯州的公立學校中策劃音樂及藝術課程長達16年,其後擔任過美國山葉公司的教育總監、布朗大學的安那柏格學院院長、明尼蘇達大學音樂學院院長,並於該學院教授音樂教育課。

金氏持有伊利諾伊大學音樂教育及藝術行政學位。他常應邀到訪美國、加拿大、歐洲及亞洲各地,身份包括作家、演講者、主持及顧問。金氏現居於美國明尼蘇達州的明尼阿波利斯。

李冠輝先生
香港藝術節高級外展經理

李冠輝現職為香港藝術節高級外展經理,負責策劃藝術節的教育及推廣項目,包括青少年之友計劃、駐節藝術家計劃及由香港賽馬會慈善信託基金資助的其他外展活動。他是香港青年合唱團的創始人之一,於2008至2011年擔任香港青年協會音樂行政經理,並參與創立香港國際無伴奏合唱節。另外,他是香港合唱團Die Konzertisten的節目策劃委員會榮譽委員。

李冠輝畢業於香港中文大學及倫敦​​大學皇家哈洛威學院,分別取得工商管理學學士學位及國際工商管理碩士學位。他曾參與由香港大學主辦、英國Clore領袖培訓計劃協辦的「文化領航學程」。

羅乃新女士
鋼琴家、電台節目主持人、監獄音樂活動義工

羅乃新是本港多才多藝的藝術家,集鋼琴家、演員、作家及電台節目主持的身份於一身。她於1978年獲選為「十大傑出青年」。她現於香港演藝學院及香港中文大學任教鋼琴,並經常應邀主持音樂講座、大師班和出任鋼琴比賽評判。

羅氏現任香港電台第四台主持音樂節目《自投羅網》和全港唯一的兒童古典音樂節目《親親童樂日》。作為鋼琴演奏家,羅氏曾在英國、歐洲、北美洲、亞洲和本地舉行演奏會及與樂團合作。此外,她亦涉足多媒體及戲劇製作,以及為不同演出作旁述,例如與莫斯科管弦樂團演出的《彼得與狼》。羅氏曾出版兩本著作及灌錄多張專輯,包括與香港中樂團合作的《十面埋伏》及《春江花月夜》。

自2011年,羅氏積極在本地監獄中推動藝術教育,特別是幫助21歲以下的年輕在囚人士。其中包括成立由在囚人士負責的廣播電台和監獄樂隊,以及教授音樂和推動表演活動。羅氏定期探訪囚友,透過藝術活動和教育帶出更生之路。

胡龐倩渝女士
音樂兒童基金會創辦人及藝術總監

胡龐倩渝畢業於香港演藝學院音樂學院鍵盤樂系,師承著名鋼琴家劉綺華老師,同時跟隨黃懿倫老師學習音樂教學法。畢業後,胡氏於小學任職音樂教師,其後再遠赴法國巴黎師範音樂學院,跟隨蕭邦國際大賽主席評審 Germaine Mournier 繼續深造鋼琴。

回港後,胡龐倩渝致力發展音樂教育,由幼兒音樂教育至導師教學訓練均有豐富的經驗。她近年大力推廣樂器教學及社區藝術教育,不但讓孩子有機會多接觸音樂,而且指導他們選擇適合的樂器來學習 。她不斷在香港舉行音樂會及工作坊,致力將多元文化和不同媒體融入音樂藝術中,令兒童能夠從多角度欣賞藝術文化。

2013年,胡龐倩渝成立了音樂兒童基金會,植根深水埗及旺角,並創辦「音樂兒童」及「音樂搖籃」計劃,為本地社區中的基層兒童提供免費音樂教育計劃,讓他們能享受古典音樂的美妙樂韻。

王勇教授
上海大學音樂學院院長

音樂學者、音樂史學家、音樂批評家及音樂活動家,王勇教授於1993年上海音樂學院本科畢業,2002年至2004年就讀德國慕尼黑音樂與及戲劇學院,是首位中德聯培音樂學博士。回國後承接教育部、上海市多個科研項目,例如教育部哲學社會科學重點研究資助項目《共和國老一輩教育家傳略—賀綠汀》,並擔任上海市教委第四期教育高地藝管實務課程建設負責人等。  

王勇教授的著作甚豐,包括《海上留聲—上海老歌縱橫談》,《上海老歌金曲100首》、主編《藝管實務案例研究》(上、下)、《上海文化地圖》(上海市教委第四期教育高地項目資助)等。他也是上海觀眾熟悉的電台節目主持人,目前主持的節目有《星期廣播音樂會》及《王博士音樂坊》。 

凱蒂.懷特女士
美國青少年音樂教育系統行政總裁

懷特是一位有才華的音樂家,也積極發起並投身不同計劃,努力以音樂改善社會。2010年7月,她在美國北卡羅來納州合夥創立 Kidznotes,是當地首個受到委內瑞拉 El Sistema 啟發而成立的組織。她在國內是策劃以音樂的轉化力量提倡共融和機會的項目(包括El Sistema)的領袖。此外,她在杜克大學兼任教職,教授「音樂及社會企業」課程,也以中提琴演奏家的身份與世界各地的室樂團及交響樂團合作。

2016年7月,她成為美國青少年音樂教育系統的首任行政總監,其總部設於杜克大學,該全國網絡支援美國各地 El Sistema 分部。她最近榮獲美國甘迺迪中心頒發的2017‑18年度公民藝術家獎,肯定了她在公民藝術及以藝術協助社區發展的貢獻。

懷特能操西班牙語及法語,並持有政治學及中提琴演奏的高級學位。

姚珏女士
香港弦樂團創辦人及藝術總監

1993年,姚珏在紐約的首次音樂獨奏會在卡內基音樂廳的威爾演奏廳舉行,座無虛席,從此展開她的職業演奏生涯,足跡遍佈亞洲、歐洲及美國。

姚氏現擔任香港賽馬會音樂及舞蹈信託基金委員、香港藝術節協會節目委員會委員及中國人民政治協商會議上海市委員會委員。2013年,姚氏獲香港特別行政區政府委任為太平紳士。

2014至2015年,姚氏獲邀成為香港理工大學駐校藝術家,並於2015年獲理大頒授大學院士榮銜。2017年,獲香港特別行政區政府授銅紫荊星章。

姚穎詩女士
臨床心理學家、表達藝術治療師

姚穎詩為來自不同年齡層和背景的受助人士提供精神健康服務,當中包括學齡前及學齡兒童、青少年、成年人和長者。她的工作範圍包括:心理評估、個別心理治療、團體心理治療、表達藝術治療,以及為不同受眾提供心理教育講座,工作坊和專業培訓。

姚氏一直積極在學校、社區及不同工作場所,推廣正向心理學與情緒健康。她亦在本地不同機構組織,提供表達藝術治療服務。姚氏曾受多個主流媒體,包括電視、廣播電台、報刊及雜誌專訪。她曾合著兩本有關壓力管理及正向心理學的著作。

姚氏為香港心理學會註冊臨床心理學家、香港大學臨床心理學社會科學碩士,並獲頒溫哥華藝術治療學院深造文憑。

何嘉坤女士
香港藝術節行政總監

何嘉坤女士自2006年出任香港藝術節行政總監以來,藝術節收入有所增長,節目規模和範疇亦擴展至大型演藝及特定場地演出。

何女士在藝術界有豐富的政策發展及基建規劃經驗,往績包括:發展新加坡濱海藝術中心及管理政府表演場地、宣傳和策劃新加坡藝術節。在出任新加坡交響樂團及維多利亞音樂廳經理期間,何女士促進成立亞太區樂團聯盟及創辦新加坡國際鋼琴音樂節。她亦參與興建新加坡植物園交響湖的戶外演出場地。何女士擔任香港藝術行政人員協會主席一職期間創辦「年度文化領袖論壇」。該論壇至今仍是香港周邊地區藝術行政界的年度盛事。

何女士現為香港藝術發展局藝術界別(藝術行政)顧問、西九文化區管理局表演藝術委員會委員,並擔任亞太表演藝術節聯盟董事局成員及國際表演藝術協會董事局成員暨節目科聯合主席。海外教席包括意大利米蘭史卡拉歌劇院學院。

鄭新文教授,太平紳士
資深藝術行政人員

鄭新文曾擔任多個香港藝術機構主管,包括香港藝術節首位華人行政總監、香港藝術發展局秘書長、香港電台第四台台長等。2005至2008年出任上海音樂學院藝術管理系系主任及教授。

2012年加入香港教育大學為兼任教授,籌辦於2014年開展的「藝術管理及文化企業行政人員文學碩士」課程,學員包括來自亞洲七個城市有經驗的藝術管理人員。

鄭教授從事多項社會服務,包括擔任康樂及文化事務署場地夥伴計畫委員會主席、香港政府藝術發展諮詢委員會委員、香港藝術發展局藝術顧問(藝術行政)、美國的藝術管理學會董事等。1991至1994年出任香港藝術行政人員協會主席。其著作《藝術管理概論:香港地區經驗、國內外案例》被多間內地大專院校採用為教材,銷量超過9000本。

湯文泰教授
香港科技大學人文社會科學學院副教授及駐校作曲家

湯文泰現為香港科技大學駐校作曲家及客席副教授,並為科大主辦的國際知名作曲家及演奏家工作坊「創意間的親暱」擔住副藝術總監,並協助舉辦香港「科大Music Alive!」系列音樂會。

湯氏屢獲殊榮,曾獲美國藝術暨文學學會、ASCAP伯恩斯坦基金會及美國音樂中心作曲家協助計劃頒發獎項及撥款。他的作品曾由柏林愛樂樂團、香港管弦樂團、理察.史圖斯曼及黛德拉斯弦樂四重奏演出,並在香港藝術節、紐約歌唱節、庫赫莫室樂節和美國鮑頓國際音樂節中演出。

有關他的作品評論見於《紐約客》、《波士頓音樂情報雜誌》和《南華早報》,他的作品亦曾在香港電台、明珠台和WCNY等傳媒播放。湯氏定期在香港電台第四台為各類型音樂會作直播評述。

Home Menu

Forum “CHANGING YOUNG LIVES, ONE NOTE AT A TIME”

Speaker

Mr Eduardo Méndez
Executive Director, El Sistema Venezuela

“When a child or youngster with El Sistema begins to play or sing, they immediately become full of hope. They begin to feel valued by their peers and teachers. They begin to understand that there is a different path than what the streets offer them.”

Eduardo Méndez was born in Caracas, Venezuela in 1978. He grew up in Mérida and started learning the violin in a núcleo (a local El Sistema centre) at a young age. In 1996 he was accepted into the Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra, one of the orchestras under El Sistema’s umbrella. He stayed with the orchestra as a violinist and violin teacher until 2002. In 2003 he joined El Sistema as Director of Academy Division. He became National Director of Nuclei in 2004, and Sectional Director for Music and Education from 2005 to 2008. In September 2008, Méndez was appointed by José Antonio Abreu, El Sistema’s founder, to be his successor in the role of as Executive Director.

Since taking up his current post, Méndez has steered the development of the El Sistema project across Venezuela, with an emphasis on increased social inclusion and higher standards of performance. He supervises major capital projects including the building of new educational facilities and performance spaces, which propels El Sistema’s nationwide network of over 400 núcleos to expand both in number and in scope. He also plays an active role in selecting, identifying, developing and promoting musical groups throughout the institution, which range from major symphony orchestras to local choirs.

Méndez was a violin teacher and performer at Pedro Nolasco Colón Conservatory between 1994 and 1999, and also studied law at Andrés Bello Catholic University from 1995 to 2000. Méndez obtained a Masters degree in Public Management from the Institute of Advanced Studies of Administration and Management in Caracas in 2007. Recently, he obtained a certificate in Professional Fundraising from Boston University.

Mr Leong Cheung
Executive Director, Charities and Community, The Hong Kong Jockey Club

Mr. Leong Cheung is the Executive Director of Charities & Community at The Hong Kong Jockey Club since 2014. The Hong Kong Jockey Club donates close to HKD 4 billion to the community annually through the Club’s Charities Trust for the betterment of Hong Kong.

Mr. Cheung has had extensive experience before joining the Club. He was an Operating Partner with Bain Capital. Prior to that, he was Managing Director of Global Sourcing & Supply Chain at Esquel Group, the founder and CEO of an education focused Internet venture, and a senior consultant at the Boston Consulting Group. Mr. Cheung is also co-Founder & Chairman of an innovative social enterprise, RunOurCity.

Besides professional career, Mr. Cheung had been an honorary advisor and director of Social Ventures Hong Kong, a pioneer venture philanthropic fund, since its inception in 2007. He also served as member of the Council and Deputy Chairman of the Court at Lingnan University. He currently serves in the Elderly Commission, Community Care Fund task force under the Commission on Poverty of the HKSAR Government, and is a director of the Hong Kong Mortgage Corporation Limited. He is also an adjunct professor at the Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Mr. Cheung has an MBA from Harvard Business School and a Bachelor of Business Administration from the Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Mr Arnaldo N. Custodio
Band Manager and Conductor, Philippine Youth Symphonic Band

Arnaldo N. Custodio has been dedicated to fostering the development of young musicians and enhancing community music appreciation in the Philippines for more than 30 years. He has been the Band Manager of the Philippine Youth Symphonic Band since 1982, and a Board Trustee of the Young Musicians Development Organization since 2004. He founded the Paulinian Symphony Orchestra at St. Paul’s College in 2010, and he served as Orchestra Director from 2010 to 2013.

Custodio began studying the bassoon in 1976 at the University of the Philippines College of Music with Celso Gallardo as his mentor. In 1977 he was appointed principal bassoon player of the Philippine Youth Orchestra, and performed as a soloist during the orchestra’s Southeast Asian tour in 1979. He was delegated to three Asian Youth Music Camps held in Makiling (1977) with Australian bassoonist Professor Richard McIntyre, and as a playing tutor in Singapore (1978) and Hong Kong (1979). In 1980 he won a British Council scholarship to study at the Royal College of Music in London, where he worked with Professor Kerry Camden.

As a professional musician, Custodio has performed with the Manila Symphony Orchestra, Metro Manila Symphony Orchestra, National Philharmonic Orchestra, and other orchestras and ensembles.

Ms Nicola Killean
Chief Executive Officer,  Sistema Scotland

Nicola Killean was the first employee of Sistema Scotland in 2007 and has worked with the Board to create and grow the organisation. She graduated from the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama with a degree in music education, and has previously worked in a number of roles: as a nursery teacher, as one of the first cultural coordinators in Scotland focusing on designing arts projects as social development and intervention models, as Scottish Development Officer for Youth Music, as a music leader and as a freelance project manager.  

Nicola is a Saltire Foundation Fellow, and has also previously held voluntary roles within the Children’s Panel in Scotland and on the Board of Horsecross Arts. She believes passionately in the transformative effects the arts can have on individuals and communities, and in the potential of all children and young people.  

 

Mr Jeffrey Kimpton
President-Emeritus, Interlochen Center for the Arts (USA)

Jeffrey Kimpton has been a leader in arts education in K-12/higher education, corporate, non-profit and philanthropic organisations for more than four decades.

Kimpton has served as President of the internationally renowned Interlochen Center for the Arts (Michigan) for the last 14 years, creating a period of unprecedented growth in the programme, media, engagement, human, capital and financial resources of Interlochen. Under his leadership Interlochen received the National Medal of Art from President George W. Bush in 2006. Mr. Kimpton led K-12 music and arts programmes for 16 years in public schools in New York, Minnesota and Kansas, and then served with distinction as Director of Education for Yamaha Corporation in the USA, Director of the Annenberg Institute at Brown University, and Director of the School of Music and professor of music education at the University of Minnesota–Minneapolis.

Mr. Kimpton holds degrees from the University of Illinois in music education, school and arts administration. He is a frequent author, speaker, presenter and consultant in the USA, Canada, Europe and Asia. He lives in Minneapolis, USA.

Mr Kenneth Lee
Senior Outreach Manager, Hong Kong Arts Festival

Kenneth Lee is the Senior Outreach Manager of the Hong Kong Arts Festival where he is in charge of all the Festival’s school education programmes, including the Young Friends scheme, the Artists-in-Residence Programme and all school outreach programmes supported by the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust. He is also an Honorary Committee Member (Programme Planning) of Die Konzertisten, a distinguished chamber choir in Hong Kong. Kenneth is one of the founders of the Hong Kong Youth Choir, and between 2008 and 2011 was the Music Administrator of the Hong Kong Federation of Youth Groups where he played a major role in establishing the Hong Kong International a Cappella Festival.

Kenneth is a graduate of the Business Administration School at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He obtained his Masters Degree in International Business Management from Royal Holloway, University of London, and is an alumnus of the Advanced Cultural Leadership Programme, organised by the University of Hong Kong in association with the Clore Leadership Programme.

Ms Nancy Loo
Pianist and Broadcaster and Prison Music Programme Volunteer

Nancy Loo is one of Hong Kong’s most versatile artists, as a pianist, radio programme host, actress and writer. She was a recipient of the Ten Outstanding Young Persons Award in 1978. She teaches piano at the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts and the Chinese University of Hong Kong, and is often invited to host music talks and masterclasses and to serve as a juror at piano competitions.

Loo is the presenter of music programme Cantilena and Hong Kong’s only classical music radio show for children, Children’s Corner, on Radio 4 of Radio Television Hong Kong. As a pianist she has given solo recitals and performed with orchestras in the UK, Europe, North America, Asia and Hong Kong. She has participated in several multimedia and drama productions, and performed as a narrator in concerts such as Peter and the Wolf with the Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra. Loo has published two books and released several albums, including Ambush and Moonlight on Spring River with the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra.

Since 2011, Loo has been actively involved in music ministry in prisons, particularly with young offenders under the age of 21. These initiatives have included the founding of a prison band and a prison radio station run by inmates, as well as music lessons and performances. Loo pays regular visits to inmates to promote rehabilitation through arts activities and education.

Ms Monique Pong
Founder and Artistic Director, Music Children Foundation

Monique Pong graduated from the Department of Keyboard at The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts. She studied the piano with renowned teacher Eva Lue and music pedagogy with Eleanor Wong. After graduation, she worked as a music teacher in a primary school. Subsequently, she advanced her education at the École Normale Supérieure in Paris, France, where she studied with Germaine Mournier to refine her piano playing skills.

As a passionate and devoted music educator, Pong is experienced in children’s education and teacher training. She is active in promoting instrumental education and community arts, with a view to guiding children in selecting the right musical instruments to learn. She continues to hold concerts and workshops in Hong Kong, and is devoted to introducing children to multi-dimensional arts by integrating multimedia and different artistic formats into the musical arts.

In 2013, Monique launched the Music Children@Sham Shui Po and Music Cradle@Sham Shui Po projects, and established the Music Children Foundation which is currently based in Sham Shui Po and Mongkok. The foundation provides free music education for underprivileged children in the local community, and allows more children to enjoy the beauty of classical music.

Prof Wang Yong
Dean of the School of Music, Shanghai University

A music scholar, music historian, music critic and musician, Prof Wang Yong graduated from the Shanghai Conservatory of Music in 1993. He studied at the Academy for Music and Theatre in Munich, Germany from 2002 to 2004, and he was the first graduate from a China-Germany joint doctoral degree in music programme. After returning to China, he headed many research and development projects that were commissioned by the Ministry of Education or based in Shanghai. They included Biographies of the Earlier Generations of Educators in the People’s Republic of China—He Luting, a key research project of the Philosophy and Sociology Division, Ministry of Education; and the planning of an arts administration programme in the fourth phase of the Education Highland project by the Shanghai Municipal Education Commission.  

Prof Wang is the author of many books including Music by the Sea – On the Old Songs from Shanghai and 100 Old Songs from Shanghai. He has edited various books such as Case Studies in Arts Administration (Volumes 1 and 2) and The Cultural Map of Shanghai. He is also a popular radio and TV programme host in Shanghai, and he is currently the host of Weekly Radio Concert and Dr Wong’s Music Studio. 

Ms Katie Wyatt
Executive Director, El Sistema USA

Katie Wyatt is an accomplished musician, executive and innovator in social change through music. In July 2010, Wyatt co-founded Kidznotes, North Carolina’s first El Sistema-inspired organisation. Including her work in El Sistema, Wyatt is a national leader in creating programmes for access and opportunity through the transformative power of music. She enjoys teaching “Music and Social Entrepreneurship” as adjunct faculty at Duke University, and as a violist has performed with chamber groups and orchestras around the world.

In July 2016, Wyatt became the first Executive Director of El Sistema USA, the national network supporting the US movement of El Sistema, headquartered at Duke University. She was recently honoured as a Kennedy Center 2017-18 Citizen Artist Fellow, a national award recognising her work in citizen artistry and community development through the arts.

Wyatt speaks Spanish and French and holds advanced degrees in Political Science and Viola Performance.

Ms Yao Jue
Founder and Artistic Director, Hong Kong String Orchestra

Yao Jue’s professional career has been punctuated by acclaimed performances throughout Asia, Europe and the US. She made her New York violin recital debut before a standing room only audience at Carnegie’s Weill Recital Hall in 1993.

Yao currently serves as a member of the Board of Trustees of the Hong Kong Jockey Club Music and Dance Fund and a member of the programme committee of the Hong Kong Arts Festival. She is also a council member of Shanghai Political Consultative Committee. Yao was appointed to be a Justice of the Peace in Hong Kong in 2013.

From 2014 to 2015, she was appointed the Artist-in-Residence of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University, and was conferred the title of University Fellowship in 2015. She was awarded the Bronze Bauhinia Star (BBS) by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region in 2017.

Ms Carol Yew Wing-see
Clinical Psychologist and Expressive Arts Therapist

Carol Yew Wing-see works with clients of all ages and backgrounds including pre-school and school-aged children, teenagers, adults and the elderly. Her work includes psychological assessment, individual psychotherapy, group treatment, expressive arts therapy, as well as delivering psycho-educational talks, workshops and professional training to different target demographics.

Yew is actively involved in promoting Positive Psychology and mental health in school settings, workplaces and the community. She also conducts expressive arts therapy workshops and programmes at various organisations in Hong Kong. She has been interviewed by various mainstream media TV and radio stations, newspapers and magazines. She is the co-author of two self-help books on stress management and Positive Psychology.

Yew is a registered clinical psychologist of the Hong Kong Psychological Society. She holds a Master of Social Sciences (Clinical Psychology) from the University of Hong Kong, and an Advanced Diploma in Expressive Arts Therapy from the Vancouver Art Therapy Institute, Canada.

Ms Tisa Ho
Executive Director, Hong Kong Arts Festival

Executive Director of the Hong Kong Arts Festival (HKAF) since 2006, Tisa Ho has increased annual turnover and extended the scope of HKAF programming to include large scale and site specific productions.

Tisa’s previous work includes wide-ranging policy and infrastructure planning projects. These include brief development for Singapore’s Esplanade and oversight of government owned venues; marketing and curatorial responsibilities for the Singapore Arts Festival; management of the Singapore Symphony Orchestra and Victoria Concert Hall during which she helped to set up the Alliance of Asia-Pacific Region Orchestras and the Singapore International Piano Festival; and the building of the first Open Air performance space on Symphony Lake at the Botanic Gardens.  As Chair of the Hong Kong Arts Administrators’ Association, she initiated the organisation’s annual Cultural Leadership Summit, which remains an annual highlight for professional arts managers in the region.

Tisa is an Advisor for Arts Administration at the Hong Kong Arts Development Council; Member of the Performing Arts Committee of the West Kowloon Cultural District; Board Member of the Association of Asia and Pacific Arts Festivals; Board Member and co-chair of Programmes at the International Society for Performing Arts. Other international appointments have included work with Accademia Teatro alla Scala in Milan, Italy.

Prof Sun-man Tseng, JP
Veteran arts administrator

Professor Sun-man Tseng has held a number of senior arts management positions in Hong Kong, including Executive Director of the Hong Kong Arts Festival Society, Secretary-General of the Hong Kong Arts Development Council and Head of Radio 4, Radio Television Hong Kong. He served as Chair and Professor of the Arts Administration Department of the Shanghai Conservatory of Music from 2005 to 2008.

He joined the Education University of Hong Kong as Adjunct Professor in 2012. He played a key role in the design and launch of the Executive Master of Arts in Arts Management and Entrepreneurship programme in 2014. The programme attracted experienced cultural managers from seven Asian cities.

Professor Tseng is currently Chairman of the Committee on Venue Partnership of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department. He is also a member of the Advisory Committee on Arts Development of the Hong Kong Government, an Arts Advisor (Arts Administration) of the Hong Kong Arts Development Council, and a board member of the Association of Arts Administration Educators (AAAE) based in the US. From 1991 to 1994, he was Chairman of the Hong Kong Arts Administrators Association. His book Principles of Arts Management (written in Chinese) has been used as a textbook in many tertiary institutions in mainland China and has sold more than 9,000 copies.

Prof Matthew Tommasini
Visiting Associate Professor & Composer-in-Residence, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Matthew Tommasini is a Visiting Associate Professor/Composer-in-Residence at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) where he coordinates an innovative and rapidly growing music programme and serves as Associate Artistic Director of the Intimacy of Creativity festival and HKUST Music Alive! concert series.

He has been awarded prizes and grants from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the ASCAP Foundation’s Leonard Bernstein Fund, and the American Music Center’s Composer Assistance Program. His work has been performed by members of the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra, Richard Stoltzman, the Daedalus Quartet, and has been featured at the Hong Kong Arts Festival, New York Festival of Song, Kuhmo Chamber Music Festival, and Bowdoin International Music Festival.

His work has been reviewed in the New York Times, Boston Music Intelligencer, and South China Morning Post, and featured on Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK), TVB Pearl, and WCNY.  He can be heard regularly on RTHK Radio 4, providing live commentary for a variety of concert events in Hong Kong.